Voyageur features the World Premiere of Le Chemin de Salut, a monumental new work written especially for ACM by Oberlin composer Christopher Dietz.

Researched from factual accounts, Le Chemin de Salut shines a spotlight on Chicago's early history and the collision of cultures between French settlers and the Native American inhabitants.

This is the first concert to feature ACM’s new Artistic Director Francesco Milioto as conductor.

Also on the concert is Derek Bermel’s virtuosic Mulatash Stomp which intertwines Balkan rhythms with American house and trance music, British composer Peter Seabourne’s haunting work The Sadness of the King for mixed ensemble and Michael Torke’s evocative tour de force After the Forest Fire for marimba, flute and cello.


Friday, December 12, 7:30 PM
Merit School of Music
38 S. Peoria St.
$10 online, $12 at the door. $5 for students and seniors.


After the Forest Fire by Michael Torke
      for flute, cello and marimba

Sadness of the King by Peter Seabourne
      for clarinet, bassoon, 2 violins, viola and piano

Le Chemin De Salut (World Premiere)
by Christopher Dietz
      for soprano, flute, clarinet, bassoon, french horn,
      2 violins, viola, cello, bass and percussion


Mulatash Stomp by Derek Bermel
      for clarinet, violin and piano

    Performed by:

          Hulya Alpakin - piano
          Doyle Armbrust - viola
          Alyson Berger - cello
          Elizabeth Choi - violin
          Robin Clevenger - french horn
          Doug Johnson - bass
          Laura Koepele-Tenges - flute
          Blagomira Lipari - violin
          Steven Louie - bassoon
          Matthew Peters - percussion
          Rebecca Schorsch - soprano
          KT Somero - clarinet

    Join our mailing list to stay updated on all ACM activities!